The Victoria Schoolhouse was built in 1904 as a replacement for a brick schoolhouse on the same site that had been deemed unsafe. The schoolhouse was situated on a 1/2 acre of land, on the north east corner of lot 88, second concession of Ameliasburgh. The community, originally known as Bush’s, was renamed after the Victoria Church (now demolished) that had been constructed in the year of Queen Victoria’s Jubilee. Soon the schoolhouse became known as the Victoria School. Victoria Schoolhouse was closed in June 1966 along with many of the one-room schoolhouses in the County. Since Victoria School was located on the corner of the Montgomery farm, Harmon Montgomery purchased it, and over the years used it as a storage building for apple boxes and bales of hay.
In 2003, the Montgomery family donated their Victoria Schoolhouse in Harmon’s memory to the Quinte Educational Museum and Archives to be used as the new permanent home for its extensive collection. The Schoolhouse, Woodshed and Privy were moved 5.5 km to the site of the Ameliasburgh Historical Museum where these three buildings have become a testament to the days of the one-room schoolhouse.